top of page

Legendary Music & Radio Executive Damion “Damizza” Young Talks Hip Hop & Prison Reform With



Damion "Damizza" Young is a legendary music producer and former Radio and A&R executive. He has produced hits and worked with people like Mariah Carey, Snoop Dogg, Eminem, Notorious BIG, Beyonce, Jay-z, Kanye West, Migos are more. In his early 20s, he was the man behind Los Angeles’ Power 106 and moonlighted at New York’s Hot 97. If you're not familiar Damizza was the man who helped end the beef between Snoop Dogg and Biggie and helped mend relationships with rappers and Hot 97. Which became shakey following the shootings between Lil Kim and Foxy Brown's entourage. Currently, Damizza is focused on his role with California charity Freedom 4 Youth and plans to produce an album with youth from this very program. Read below as we talk being named Source's 4th most powerful man in Hip Hop, prison reform and more.


LilMissChitChat - You’ve done a lot of things and worked on a lot of legendary projects, When someone asks you “what do you do?” What is your response?

DaMizza - It’s so funny cause I was trying to do a resume the other day and I didn’t know what to say. I’m very humble and I never want to come off arrogant. Most times I just keep my mouth shut. I don’t really know how to say what I’ve done. At this point in my career, the thing I’m most proud of is this project I’m working on with prison reform and the youth.

LilMissChitChat - What made you get in the music industry? Hip Hop specifically?

DaMizza - I just always had a love for music. I didn’t choose music, music chose me. I've always had a passion for music and the industry just gravitated toward me. It’s like when you go to Mc. Donalds and get a burger and just get hooked on it.

LilMissChitChat- Who do you consider the Top 5 rappers of all time?

Damizza - Not to sound cliche but Biggie, Tupac and Nate Dogg, whom was one of my best friends, RIP… The whole Bone Thugs & Harmony, Andre 3000, Eminem, Kurupt but more currently I really like Nipsey Hussle and Roddy Rich.

LilMissChitChat- When it comes to Hip Hop most people strive off beef, say it’s good for the culture but you actually ended some beefs.. Tell me about that..

DaMizza - I’ve been apart of some beefs but I've also ended them. I am an outspoken person who just says what’s on his mind. Dr. Dre said I was the bridge that ended the East Coast, West Coast Beef… I’m grateful that I was even able to make that happen.

LilMissChitChat - How did it feel in 1999 to be named Source’s 4th most powerful man in Hip Hop?

DaMizza - I didn’t believe it. Ricky called me and said I got nominated as top 30 powerful man in Hip Hop. When I realized I was in the top 5 with people like Master P, Puffy and Dr. Dre it was unbelievable. I didn’t really believe it until I physically seen the article. I believe that recognition helped break down stereotypes in Hip Hop. It was a milestone for me, a suburban white kid from Santa Barbara making it in Hip Hop.

LilMissChitChat - Being a veteran in the game, How do you feel about the current state of Hip Hop?

DaMizza - A lot of people trash mumble rap but I like all of it.. I love all of the young cats coming up. They said Hip Hop wasn’t going to last but it did. Anything that pushes the genre forward, I’m all for it.

LilMissChitChat - What made you release your book “Guilty By Association” ? What was it like waiting for the release?

DaMizza - J Craig approached me and said he wanted to collaborate on a book about my experiences. I wanted to show readers that anyone from anywhere can do anything. As long as you have passion and don’t give up, you can make things happen. Awaiting the release of the book, was like a father expecting in the delivery room. It was tough, I never knew the impact my book could have on the business. People were nervous, I was going to say the wrong thing but it was nothing like that. The speculations helped with marketing though because fans gravitated to certain chapters depending on who their favorite artist was.

LilMissChitChat - What was it like running Power 106?

DaMizza - It was a dream come true. I was 21, 22 with a tremendous responsibility. I never wanted to mess up. I treated worked like I was still a fan. I produced content that I would have liked to see.

LilMissChitChat - You’re currently working on the release of an album called “DaMizza Presents: Freedom”, Who should we expect to hear on this project?

DaMizza - Lil Bam, maybe some Bone Thugs but mostly artist in the local community who are apart of the Freedom4Youth program.

LilMissChitChat - Tell me about Freedom4youth and the role you play?

DaMizza- Freedom4Youth is a program that helps empower teenagers beyond the Juvenile justice system. I’m the connect the dots guy. I put people together. If I have a deal, I connect the young people with them. I mentor the young kids, show them the way. Help them get into the studio, record and stay away from the streets.

LilMissChitCahat- What can we expect from you up and coming?

DaMizza- I’m reinventing myself production wise. I’m a board member for Freedom 4 Youth, currently working on making it not only a local but state movement. I want the old Juvenile hall in Santa Barbra to be teared down and replaced with a dorm and school. You have good kids who make mistakes, get put into jail for something stupid and turn into gang members. They go into jail solo but have no choice but to build an alliance to stay safe. I want to eliminate juvenile detention centers out of the equation for our youth. I may run for governor or congress in the future but right now my main focus is juvenile prison reform.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page