top of page

[My Thoughts] Are Relationships A Religion Of The 90s?



So the other day I was relaxing catching up on some reruns of sex in the city. Now, if you're not familiar; every episode starts off with a question. This episode's question happened to beare relationships a religion of the 90s?". This question caught my attention because of a meme I had came across the other day which read "today's r&b makes you want to cheat on your girl". I laughed and continued scrolling but now that I think about it, this is a very interesting topic. Are we the era of polygamous relationships? Are there anymore relationships with just two people? How many couples do you know who have never had an issue over their significant other communicating with someone of the opposite sex? Every time you scroll through social media there's talks of "side chicks" or "side niggas". When did having side pieces become so normal and acceptable in society? As I write this, I listen to "Recognize" by PartyNextDoor and Drake. While they slowly chant "you got n*ggas, I got b*tches" I can't help by scream in my head "this is exactly what I'm talking about?". Everyone has someone else. Now, let's move onto all the beautiful children being brought into the world by parents who've never experienced a stable relationship together. We're talking one night stands, ex's friends, you're after club hook up... were talking anybody. How can we expect anyone to successfully raise a child with someone they've never experienced a relationship with? What happened to relationships? Will we ever get them back? At what point did we lose relationships? How will we get them back? Just something to think about...


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page